Top Awards

The Scout Association’s Top Awards for 14 – 25 year olds are made up of 4 awards as well as the Young Leaders’ Scheme which is the fifth award we cover. To find out more about each award, click on the links below.

Duke of Edinburgh’s Award

One of the most recognised awards that Young People can achieve, the Duke of Edinburgh award can be started in the Explorer Section.  This can be completed either through the Explorer Scout Section or via Schools that run the programme.  The Award Scheme is set in three stages: Bronze, Silver, Gold.

Queen’s Scout Award (QSA)

The Queen’s Scout Award is the highest youth award achievable in the Scouting movement.  It is very similar to the requirements of the Duke of Edinburgh’s Award Scheme but is exclusively available to Scouts.  This award once completed is presented by a member of the Royal Family.

Explorer Belt

The Explorer Belt is the challenge of a lifetime that is available to Explorer Scouts aged over 16 and members of the Scout Network. It is a chance to undertake an international expedition over ten days that brings a real understanding of a different country, its people and way of life.

Scouts of the World Award (SOWA)

Scouts of the World Award (SOWA) is a Scout Network only award that gives Scout Network members the chance to undertake a project of their choice within the themes of Peace, Environment and Sustainability and take action on their chosen issue.

Young Leaders’ Scheme

A section of Explorers, this scheme is designed to teach Leadership to participants.  Many of the Young Leaders will help out with other sections in Scouting which can contribute to the achievement of multiple awards including Duke of Edinburgh and Queen Scout Award.

Successful completion of this scheme can also result in a Foundation Level award from the Institute of Leadership and Management (ILM).